My Grandmother’s Tablecloth #100DaysOfOldDays

Day 68 #100DaysOfOldDays

I never knew my father’s mother because she died in 1960, seven years before I was born. I believe she was a lady and I wish I had known her. Her husband, my grandfather, died in ’68 when I was a year old, so I never got to know him either.

I was absolutely thrilled when two days ago, my uncle Philip, Dad’s brother, gave me a beautiful pink damask linen tablecloth that belonged to their mam. I’m a sentimental ole biddy and to own something that once belonged to my grandmother is a big thing for me, especially as I had nothing of hers before this.

This tablecloth was a present to her from my auntie Kay in 1950. So it’s at least 72 years old. It’s beautiful, I love it, especially the colour. The photos don’t do it justice unfortunately!

As you can see, I’m not great with the iron. I don’t get enough practice! I was afraid of damaging it. If you have any tips for safely ironing a linen tablecloth, please let me know. 😊 Not that I’ll be using it on a daily basis but I will take it out for special occasions.

The photos I have of my grandmother are quite old and not too clear. Lucy drew this picture of her from one of the photos.

3 thoughts on “My Grandmother’s Tablecloth #100DaysOfOldDays

  1. What a precious possession. I wouldn’t worry about ironing it and I would put clear plastic over it when you do use it on a special occasion. Because of its age, it may not do well in the wash. You are very lucky to have this. Lucy has captured her great grandmother well in her drawing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: More Vintage Things #100DaysOfOldDays | Rambles of a Raring Writer

I welcome your thoughts. Please tell me what you think!