Cook Like a Boss. Day 4.

Chef Jeffers from Forestside Cookery School is teaching his budding little chefs how to make chilli non carne and baked potato today.

Stephano isn’t really a fan of our vegetarian days…but he did a little happy dance when we promised him more red velvet cake and ice cream for dessert! Plus he loves baked potato so it was full steam ahead today for Little Miss Nine.

I sat back about 98% of the time today. Eager as a beaver to get started, she got all her ingredients out and measured the herbs and spices. For the first time in her life, she opened the tin cans herself. (Are we overprotective?) She didn’t slice off any fingers in the process! I explained how she needed to rinse the beans in the colander.

‘What’s a colander?’

I told her what it looked like and where to find it. ‘Oh, I always wanted to use this,’ she chirped. Mmm…if only I’d known!

She peeled and chopped with so much more ease compared to day 1 and day 2. It didn’t take her long to gain the confidence. I honestly think it’s because she’s being trusted to do it herself. This is a good lesson for us too as the parents. LET HER DO IT!

She peeled that sweet potato like it was a cheese string! Actually, she enjoyed using the peeler so much that she insisted on peeling the courgette too. (I never peel courgettes)

Now I’m googling, Do You Peel Courgettes?

I have to say today has been easy. All the work was in the peeling and chopping. After that it was straight to the pot. The part Little Miss Nine has loved all week. From drizzling the oil into the saucepan, watching onions and garlic sizzling, and tumbling in the veg, she said to me, ‘This is so satisfying.’

The stirring of the pot has brought out the little witch in Little Miss Nine. She called it her potion. I’m sleeping with one eye open tonight.

Hocus Pocus

Less washing up than yesterday. And by the time this ‘potion’ and the baked potatoes were ready, all the cleaning up was done. Nothing left to do only dish it out and enjoy! And that’s what we did!

It’s true what they say; when a child cooks or helps to cook a meal, there’s a good chance that they will eat it. First time to eat courgettes and lentils. #foodgoals

Thank you for following Little Miss Nine’s Cookery Camp adventures.

You can read about Day 1 HERE

You can read about Day 2 HERE

You can read about Day 3 HERE

You can read about Day 5 HERE

9 thoughts on “Cook Like a Boss. Day 4.

  1. Pingback: Cook Like a Boss. Day 3. – Rambles of a Raring Writer

  2. WOW….this looks amazing!! I do believe Little Miss Nine outdid herself 🙂 This looks delicious – why am I so far away? Gloria, you may never have to cook again!! Imagine the meals that you could order in your own kitchen – let her at it!! She has a passion for it and she looks happy doing it, that’s a huge plus. I am learning things too – never thought about peeling a courgette (zucchini or summer squash here!) I love the idea of a baked potato in the middle – perfect!! She’s going to have to keep this up – maybe once a week – what will we do after tomorrow? Oh, I’ll not think of that now….too stressing!! Looking forward to tomorrow….well done missey 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • She sure did outshine herself today Carol. I think we may have a new Saturday evening activity.
      About the peeling frenzy…the courgettes were much nicer peeled so that’s what I’ll be doing with them in future! 😃
      I’ll miss it too after tomorrow but hopefully Little Miss Nine will continue with her newfound passion. We’ll definitely be encouraging her to do so.
      Thank you Carol!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Rambles of a Raring Writer

  4. Pingback: Five Days Later – We Are Holistic

  5. Pingback: Cook Like a Boss. Day 1. – Rambles of a Raring Writer

  6. Pingback: Cook Like a Boss. Day 2. – Rambles of a Raring Writer

I welcome your thoughts. Please tell me what you think!